Finishing University, Making Decisions, Spare Time and Receiving Grades

Finishing University

So to anyone who didn’t know, I am graduating in July after studying for the last four years at University. Being at University is something that has become a norm for me, living with friends, studying and writing assignments and filming in groups is something that my usual day for the last four years. Now that, that has ended, it’s weird. I don’t know if it’s just me but now that I don’t have a deadline for something, I want one, but when I did, I wanted to do everything but it.

If I could I would do it all over again, because the things I’ve learnt, the people I’ve met and the responsibility I’ve had to take on, has prepared me for later in the life. I do know that it has to end but I am super scared and excited to see where I go from here. Some of my friends or family have finished University and for many reasons they said they felt like they were in a bit of a limbo, where they felt lost and a bit down. This is probably because we go from having a certain purpose, to then having a lot of free time. One of my focuses now University is coming to an end is to make sure I don’t fall into that limbo, and that even if I’m not doing what I want to be doing straight away, to make sure I’m on the right path to be.

Making Decisions

Making decisions for me isn’t easy. I am very indecisive and go back and fourth in my mind on what the right decision will be. As I have finished University it’s decision time on whether I want to further my education, take up my plan B until I figure how to get to plan A, where I want to live and whether certain opportunities are worth losing others for. This is a really hard time for someone that just doesn’t know. And if you’re one of those people, I can relate. Massively. In all honesty at the minute I’m waiting on responses and leaving everything until the last minute because of that. This isn’t a goo decision an I wouldn’t recommend it but I don’t like making harsh decisions based on the reality of whether I believe I can get things or not, because that’s already the wrong attitude to have. Even though it is super stressful, I believe its so important to have the attitude that your plan A is going to work, because if you don’t you’re already not trying hard enough.

Spare time

Like I mentioned before, going from having a lot of things to do, to not much at all is weird. Kind of like when you were in school and you’d break for summer and after a couple of weeks you’d be bored, however before that it was all you could think about. I have decided to use my time wisely. This didn’t come instantly to me. I didn’t finish University and have my life together. It has taken a good month to have this mentality, and I honestly don’t know how long its gonna last. Hopefully, until the end of summer. I’ve got a lot things coming up in the summer but in the meantime I’m going to focus on three things. Money, writing and my health. These three things are important in different ways but are all important regardless of which decision I make for the future. Id recommend picking a couple things you want to focus on and sticking to doing them, even if it’s baby steps. Having less to focus on, but something really to focus on, helps.

Receiving Grades 

Last month and this month are the time the grades start coming back for most University students and I’ve already had a fair few. I am actually only waiting on one last grade, which is exciting. Even though waiting for grades is sometimes stressful, now receiving most I’m really happy with the outcome. Most of the grades I worked really hard for and even when the end product didn’t turn out great I still achieved better than expected which to me is a success. I remember at the beginning of the year I was saying to myself I’m not going to look at any of my grades because I was so worried I was going to do well, and now after looking (Literally straight away) I’m quite proud of myself. Not everything goes the way you expect it to and its a shame but all you can really do is learn from it, which is what I intend to do.

Leave a Reply

